Lira District is located in Lango sub-region in Northern Uganda and is bordered by the districts of Pader and Otuke in the North and North East, Alebtong in the East, Dokolo in the South and Apac in the West. Physically, the district lies between:
Latitudes 1o 21’N, 2o 42”N
Longitudes 320 51”E, 340 15”E
The district covers approximately a total area 1326 km2 of which 1286.22 km2 is land area.

Vision statement
To have a democratic prosperous society in a sustainable environment

Lira District Mission statement
To build and maintain a democratic prosperous society in a sustainable environment.

Administrative and Local Government Units

The district is composed of the following number of administrative units:
Counties = 1 county and 1 Lira Municipal Council
Sub-counties = 9 sub counties and 4 Divisions
Parishes = 63 parishes and 20 wards in Lira Municipality
Villages = 678 villages and 64 cells in Lira Municipality.

Geology and Soils
The geological formations in the district:
– Basement complex (mainly undifferentiated acid gneiss) covering most of the district.

The continental climate of the district is modified by the large swamp area surrounding the southern part of the district. The rainfall in the district is bimodal with one peak during April-May and the other in August-October.
The average annual rainfall in the district varies between 1200-1600 mm decreasing northwards. The rainfall is mainly convectional and normally comes in the afternoons and evenings.
The average minimum and maximum temperatures are 22.50C and 25.50C, respectively. Absolute maximum temperature hardly goes beyond 360C, and absolute minimum hardly falls below 200C.
The Equatorial Trough which brings rainfall passes over the district. The South easterly winds which also brings rains to the district passes over Lira. Land and sea breezes are common in the district. Wind run is low (1-4m/sec) during the rainy season and moderate (4-8m/sec) during the dry season.

Lira District has one Higher Local Government, one Municipal Local Government (with 4 division LGs) and 9 Sub-county Local Governments. There are 1 County Administrative units, 103 parish administrative units, 20 wards administrative units, 1,547 village administrative units and 20 cell administrative units.+

By ongompaul